Jump to content
ListMessenger Support Forum
  • Announcements

    • matt.simpson

      ListMessenger Support Forum Updated   08/08/2017

      We just wanted to mention that we have just upgraded our support forum software to the latest and greatest version of Invision Community. This will translate to a significantly better experience for users and hopefully a huge reduction in the amount of forum spam that pops up. Forum spam is poison to a support forum such as this because it robs support administrators of time which would have other wise went to providing important responses.
Guest Luxor

Why Does Unsubscribe Action Delete The User?

Recommended Posts

Guest Luxor   
Guest Luxor

When a user unsubscribes, he is completely deleted from the database.

 

My problem with this is that I use LM as a "secondary" database for emails. I collect emails through my various sites and when I decide to do a mailing, I import these emails into LM and do the mailing. A user may unsubscribe, but then as admin I may at a later time import his email again (intentionally or not) to LM and then he'll get another email even though he wanted to be removed.

 

I believe it is better to "mark" a user as unsubscribed (instead of deleting them) so that he is not accidentally added again unless he specifically goes through a process of resubscription. This is how MailChimp and other commercial vendors do it.

 

Can this feature be added?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Luxor,

 

ListMessenger does something very similar as well. When you import subscribers there is the option to "Do not import subscribers that have previously unsubscribed from the selected groups.". It tracks this activity in a logging table, and won't re-import someone to a group if they've previously unsubscribed from it.

 

Does that help?

 

-Matt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×